Famous Tekes


Famous Tekes

Business and Industry

Raymond G. Chambers (Theta-Zeta)
Co-Owner of the New Jersey Nets

Roger J. Dow (Iota-Rho)
VP of Marketing for Marriott Hotels

Edward C. Droste (Epsilon)
Co-Founder of Hooters

Conrad M. Hilton (Alpha-Omicron)
Founder of Hilton Hotels

James P. Evans (Gamma-Omega)
CEO of Jenny Craig

James M. Kilts (Delta)
Chairman of the Board and CEO of the Gillette Company

Paul R. Oreffice (Alpha-Zeta)
CEO of Dow Chemical

Howard D. Schultz (Theta-Iota)
Principal Owner of Starbucks Coffee Company

Robert L. Nardelli (Zeta-Theta)
Chairman, President and CEO of the Home Depot

Alan McCollough (Delta-Upsilon)
Chairman, President and CEO of Circuit City Stores

Charles R. Walgreen, Jr (Upsilon)
Chairman of Walgreen Drugs


Ronald W. Reagan (Iota)
40th President of the United States of America

Robert L. "Bob" Barr, Jr. (Beta-Sigma)
U.S. Congressman

Robert A. Butterworth, Jr. (Gamma-Theta)
Florida Attorney General

Robert C. Byrd (Alpha-Pi)
U.S. Senator

Ryan C. Crocker (Alpha-Theta)

Gary A Doer (Zeta-Iota)
Premier of Manitoba

Roger W. Jespen (Beta-Xi)
U.S. Senator

Carl D. Pursell (Delta-Pi)
U.S. Congressman

James H. Quillen (Pi-Gamma)
U.S. Congressman

John G. Rowland (Kappa-Upsilon)
Governor of Connecticut

Richard B. Stone (Lambda-Iota)

Charles E. Whittaker (Alpha-Phi)
U.S. Supreme Court Justice


Gregory L. Geoffroy (Alpha-Chi)
President of Iowa State University

Dr. William V. Muse (Epsilon-Upsilon)
Chancellor of East Carolina University

Joseph J. Sisco (Delta)
President of American University

Hoke L. Smith (Delta)
President of Towson University


Terry P. Bradshaw (Beta-Zeta)
NFL Star and TV Analyst

Louis Carnesecca (Theta-Sigma)
St. John's Basketball Coach

George S. Halas (Gamma)
Founder of the NFL

Marv Levy (Zeta)
Head Football Coach in the NFL

Richard F. "Digger" Phelps (Epsilon-Zeta)
Notre Dame Basketball Coach and TV Analyst

Philip M. Simms (Mu-Sigma)
NFL Star and TV Commentator


Merv Griffin (Gamma-Delta)
Entertainer and TV Personality

Willie Nelson (Nu-Xi)
Country Music Songwriter and Singer

Elvis Presley (Beta-Psi)
Entertainer, Singer, and Actor

Les Paul (Gamma-Delta)
Inventor of the Electric Guitar

Philanthropic, Literary, Scientific, Religious, and Military

Gerald P. Carr (Beta-Sigma)
NASA Astronaut, Commander U.S. Skylab IV

Andrew Allen (Kappa-Upsilon)
NASA Astronaut

John Fisher (Gamma-Epsilon)
Rear Admiral, United States Navy, President of the Navy League

Roy K. Flint (Omega)
Dean, U.S. Military Academy at West Point

William A. Fowler (Omicron)
Nobel Prize for Physics, Nuclear Astrophysics, Professor

David R. Jones (Pi)
Editor, New York Times

Eugene Frank (Delta-Mu)
Methodist Bishop

Ralph Keyes (Omega)
President, Kiwanis Foundation

The Omicron-Sigma Chapter of Tau Kappa Epsilon at Indiana University Southeast was installed as a chapter on December 11, 1976.

Since 1899, Tau Kappa Epsilon has never had an exclusionary clause for membership. TKE does not judge men on their wealth, rank or honor, but instead on their personal worth and character.

Our mission is to "to aid men in their mental, moral, and social development for life." In essence, we build Better Men for a Better World.